Lemon chicken with capers


Lest you all think that all I do is eat out all the time, I do cook.

My problem with cooking is that I’m more of an artist and less of a scientist.

Fortunately, I have an acceptable understanding of what tastes combine well with each other which gives me a pretty good rate of success.

Unfortunately, the artistic nature of my cooking also means that when I fail initially, I try and tamper with the results, trying to force something to be better than it is, which usually results in a failure of epic proportions rather than a simply ‘blah’ meal.

But last night was a success, so I’m going to share. I’m approximating the measurements here, since I usually eyeball measurements when I’m not following a strict recipe. So go with your gut too. This was a really nice chicken in a lemon artichoke sauce that went well with rice, but would probably pair even better with pasta.

3 boneless chicken thighs

4 tablespoons of capers

1 medium onion chopped

¼ cup of lemon juice

¼ cup of olive oil

1/8 cup of water

2 tsp of black pepper (add less or more per your tastes)

Salt to taste

2 tablespoons of Garlic Powder

2 small artichokes halved and cleaned up

1/8 cup light sour cream

Throw all of your ingredients except the artichokes into a sauté pan. Add the artichoke halves around the chicken. Cover. Cook on low to medium low heat for about 30-40 minutes. You can simultaneously cook some rice or pasta. Dice or shred chicken, remove artichokes and serve over rice or pasta. Add the artichokes to the plate as a side and a garnish.

Leave a Reply

