Nerd News Roundup


I’m a nerd of a different stripe, and I am frequently impressed by the breadth of coverage Chris brings us on a regular basis. I’m going through withdrawals right along with the rest of you. So I’ll do my best to fill these big shoes.

Doctor Who

I finished watching the seventh season of Doctor Who last night.  I’m really pleased with how it has progressed.  If you’re not a fan (aka Whovian) then you’re missing out. 

As far as Whovians go, I’m not all that impressive, but I am excited to see the Christmas special from Europe this year (more about our move to Europe later). In this interview we learn that the mythology is going to be shifted quite a bit with the 50th anniversary season. I can’t believe we’ll be getting a new Doctor so soon, I wonder what he’ll (she’ll?) be like.

Star Wars

There has been some news on the Star Wars battle lines.  John Williams will return to write the score for Episode IIV.  Apparently, Disney has reserved a whole host of web domains around the theme of Star Wars: Attack Squadron. No one knows anything about it though, but since it is Star Wars it must be awesome (excuse me while I flagellate myself violently). 

The Wolverine

I am a fan of the X-Men universe, but I’ve never read the comic books.  In fact, Calvin and Hobbes is the closest I’ve come to reading comic books at all.  Does that make me more or less of a nerd?  I’m not so sure about the second Wolverine movie.  As we all know by now, unnecessary sequels are unnecessary. With all the block buster busts so far this year, I think it is safe to add The Wolverine to the list.

The Community

This show has been one of my guilty pleasures for four years now. I don’t know that our fearless blogger has ever seen it, but it definitely fits with the eclectic mixed bag this blog represents. Looks like it has been renewed for a fifth season, but the cast is changing a lot. Hopefully this turns out to be a good thing.  It does seem like the writers are struggling to find humor that came so easily in the first two seasons.  If you’re new to the show, start watching it from the beginning to learn the group dynamics. Much of the humor depends on knowing the various character traits.

That’s all I got for now, folks.

Leave a Reply

