Nerd News Roundup


Stargate

I liked the 1994 movie. I own it. I think it’s a just a great flick that captured that same sort of old-timey serial space adventure  vibe that Star Wars had. I think it was much better than the TV shows that followed it. A classic.

So naturally Roland Emmerich who made the original movie wants to reboot the franchise as a trilogy.

facepalm

There are mornings when I think the movie gods truly hate me.

Terminator

It’s reboot o’rama here at the house of the Dread. All the reboots you never asked for and didn’t want. Up next on the auction block, the Terminator! Starring senior citizen Arnold Schwarzenegger and I’m guessing a ton of the CGI stuff they used in Tron: Legacy to make Jeff Bridges young again.

The news is that they’ve signed director Alan Taylor late of Thor: The Dark World to retell the tale of a homicidal robot sent back in time to change the past and keep its evil AI overlord from being defeated by humans.

Now, I haven’t seen Thor: The Dark World yet, but you know my general feelings about reboots. The only way this thing is going to be good is if Kyle Reese is replaced by this guy:

Dr Who

or these guys:

billandted

X-Men: Days of Future Past

Jennifer Lawrence will be naked in most of the movie. Well, her character will be. She’ll be fully clothed in an appropriate blue body suit as the mutant Mystique:

“Some of the Mystique look is a little different, but we’re still using the same paint. But she’s different in this film too,” she tells SciFiNow exclusively. “She was struggling – like a lot of normal humans – with the way she looked, and she was covered up a lot in the first movie, but this time she is Mutant and proud.”

It’s a trivial non-story, really, but I posted it to get the words Jennifer Lawrence and naked in my blog as a way to drive up my page views and search engine hits.

Star Wars

I love crazy casting rumors. This morning, rumors abound that actress Ksenia Solo will be playing the role of Han Solo’s daughter, which is too cute by far seeing as the actress already shares a name with the fictional smuggler. So it probably won’t happen. It was probably a rumor started by a couple of guys who were baked thinking, Dude… wouldn’t it be funny if they cast someone named Solo to play Han Solo’s daughter? My mind… is… blown. Dude, we have to get that to happen. Hand me my smart phone.

The other rumor is that actor Liam McIntyre is also up for a role.

Island of Dr. Moreau

Lastly, two writers have been hired to once again try and tell the tale of a crazed geneticist and an island of furries gone wild.

Briefly: Two writers have been hired to make a third film adaptation of H.G. Wells‘ 1896 novel The Island of Dr. Moreau. Warner Bros. tapped Lee Shipman and Brian McGreevy, producers on the Netflix show Hemlock Grove, to adapt the novel in a modern, socially conscious sci-fi film.

It remains unnecessary, but I can’t see how they would bollucks it up any more than the last go-round with Val Kilmer did, so I remain ambivalent.

One thought on “Nerd News Roundup

Leave a Reply

