Nerd News Roundup


Avatar

I don’t really get the love for this movie or why it made a bazillion dollars, but it did, so sequels are comings. Reportedly,  James Cameron is considering reuniting with Arnold Schwarzenegger for the sequel in which Arnold would play the bad guy, which (sad to say) is really a step down for me from Stephen Lang.

But, you know, since I won’t be going to see this anyway, I don’t care that much. Except that I dearly hope that at some point, Arnold says to the protagnoist, “Wat’s the matter, Jake? Feeling a little blue?”

Avengers 2

If you’ve had just about enough of Gwyneth Paltrow (which judging from the Internet hate she tends to get, most of you have) then take heart, you probably won’t have to see her again in the upcoming Avengers sequel.

Doctor Who

If you’ve ever felt the need to pretend that stepping into your house, bedroom, bathroom, whatever was a chance to journey across time and space with an attractive girl thousands of years your junior, then take heart, Think Geek has just what you’ve been looking for.

Video Games

Nerd news and politics converge again.

“I want to take my unique drawing skills, my unique type of style and I want to bring it into the world,” Mullins said.

Mullins and others are part of a video game design program called Project A-Game at Youth Uprising, an outreach program in east Oakland. Now the program will expand to two years, giving young people a chance to get into an industry they’ve never really had access to.

“I’m learning how to design games so later on I could put my coding into it so when I get a job I’ll know how to do it,” Randy Phan said.

The program is being partially funded by legal fees paid by the State of California to the Entertainment Software Association following the State’s failed efforts to ban the sale of violent video games to minors.

Leave a Reply

