Middle age


Yesterday, I was my son’s age playing and worrying about school and homework. Then I was a young man, trying and often failing to find my path in this world. Today, I am an adult of all things, wondering how I got here and still trying to find my way while bluffing in front of others to make it seem like I know what I’m doing. Tomorrow, God willing, I’ll be an old man looking forward to seeing the grandkids. And the day after that, I will be gone.

Life is amazingly short and, in the end, the only thing that will matter is if we made this world a little better by being here than it would have been otherwise, by how we treated each other: family, friends, strangers.

Leave a Reply

