The TL:DR Bible: Isaiah 1


Chapter 1:

The visions of Isaiah:

God: I have raised up a people, but they rebel against me. Even beasts recognize their owner, but my people don’t know me. They have abandoned me.

Where can I strike you again to make you listen? You’re entire body is covered in welts and bruises. Your country is desolate. If I didn’t preserve some of you, you would have ended up like Sodom and Gomorrah.

Why are you coming to religious services? I’ve had enough of your pointless singing, praying, and tithing. I hate religion without justice and mercy for the poor. Your worship is an abomination, because your hands are covered in blood.

Repent. Cease doing evil. Learn to do good. Seek justice, bring down the oppressors, defend the defenseless and the stranger. Come and reason with me. Your sins will be washed away. If you obey, you will prosper. If you rebel, you will die.

The faithful city has become corrupt, filled with violence, bribery, and oppression. So I will turn against you in the day of my wrath. I will restore my city by purging the evil from it. And in those days, you will be ashamed of the evil you have chosen.

Leave a Reply

