Guns…


Leaving home to go pick up my daughter from school a few days ago and I heard a bunch of sirens maybe a block or two over on the main road and my first thought is instantly “active shooter”.

I fucking hate that.

And I fucking hate that my kids have done active shooter drills. I hate that both my son and daughter have said that their greatest fear is a shooter coming to their schools. And I’ve never shared my fears with them. This is just the world they live in now.

I hate that if I go out, I mentally plot out ways to the emergency exits. Malls, movie theaters, restaurants. I’m not obsessed about it, but the thought ALWAYS crosses my mind at least once.

“What would I do if…?”

I hate what the NRA has become. I hate the toxic gun culture and the culture of indifference, greed, and bullying that tolerates it.

And I really fucking hate guns now. Didn’t used to. Now I do.

And now I do want to take them all away, crush ’em, melt ’em down, turn them into playgrounds, appliances, or car parts.

I know it’ll never happen here in America. The tree of liberty must be watered with the blood of first graders, movie goers, and beauticians from time to time after all…

Leave a comment