Chicken and pepper tacos


Prepping the chicken:

  • Frozen chicken thighs
  • Smoked Paprika
  • Garlic Powder
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Can of diced tomatoes

Okay, so this was actually an accident, but it turned out to be a happy accident.

I was boiling a 3lb bag of frozen chicken thighs, and I decided to try and add some seasoning to the water to see if I could flavor the chicken. I picked smoked paprika and accidentally opened the spoon side instead of the shaker side to the container and dumped out a large amount of smoked paprika. So I went with it, dumped out some garlic powder, salt, pepper and a can of diced tomatoes.

Now, I don’t have exact measurements, but the 8 cups of water I was boiling the chicken in did turn a nice shade of red. Honestly, I imagine you could get by with a LOT less.

I used a couple of pieces of chicken, diced up in that night’s chicken pot pie dinner, and saved the rest overnight in the broth.

Taco filling

  • 2 diced chicken thighs
  • 1/3 bag of frozen peppers and onions
  • 1 diced jalapeno, seeded.
  • 2 tbs. teriyaki sauce
  • Sirracha to taste

Heat in a skillet, cover. Throw some tortillas on a baking sheet in the oven at low heat to get them nice and warm, spoon in some of the taco filling and you’ve got dinner.

I served it with veggie rice and beans.

1 thought on “Chicken and pepper tacos

Leave a comment