The TL:DR Bible: John 13-14


Chapter 13:

Jesus and company are in the room where they will eat the Passover meal. Before that happens, Jesus grabs a basin, some water, and a towel and washes the disciples’ feet.

Peter: No way, Jesus.

Jesus: If I don’t wash your feet, you have no part with me.

Peter: How about a sponge bath then?

Jesus: Just your feet will be fine.

After he’s done, Jesus says, “I’m your master and I washed your feet. Do the same to each other and act in humility and service. Also one of you is totally going to betray me.”

Peter signals the disciple whom Jesus loved to ask who it is. This disciple, resting their head on Jesus chest or stomach or shoulder, asks who it is. Which, maybe it’s a cultural thing, but that seems really intimate for just friends to be doing.

Jesus signifies that it’s Judas, who gets possessed by Satan and runs off to tell the Pharisees where Jesus is going. Despite asking the question and getting an answer, everyone is still acting like idiots and lets Judas go.

Jesus: I, uh… I just told you guys that he was going to betray me.

Disciples: Durrrrr…. I thought he was going to go buy more groceries.

Jesus: No, I just said, “My betrayer is the one I give a piece of bread to dipped in sauce.” Then I gave it to Judas.

Disciples: Maybe he’s going out to give money to the poor…

Jesus: If there’s a fifth gospel, I am so getting better disciples.

Jesus: I’m going away and you can’t follow right now. But I give you a new commandment to love one another as I have loved you. All men will know you are my disciples by your love.

Peter: Where are you going?

Jesus: You can’t follow me now, but you’ll follow me soon enough.

Peter: I’d die for you.

Jesus: Yeah, we’ve been through this three times already. You’re going to deny me three times.

 

Chapter 14:

Jesus: Don’t be troubled. You believe in God, believe in me too. I will go to prepare a place for you and come back. You know the way I go.

Thomas: Yeah, know we don’t.

Jesus: I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to God but through me. If you know me, you know my Father and have seen him.

Philip: We haven’t though. Show him to us.

Jesus: IF you’ve seen me, you’ve seen the Father. If you believe in Me, you will do greater works than Me. Whatever you ask in my name, I will do it. If you love me, do what I’ve said.

I will ask the Father to send you the Holy Spirit.

I will return to you. After a while, I will be gone, but you will see Me. Because I live, you will live too. If you keep my commandments, you show that you love me, and you will be loved by the one who loves me. If you don’t keep my commandments, you don’t love me or the Father.

The Holy Spirit will help guide you and help you remember my words.

But the devil comes soon. He has no power over me. Let us go, so the world will know that I love the Father.

Leave a comment