The TL:DR Bible: John 15-17


Chapter 15:

Jesus calls on his disciples to be attached to him. Being attached to Jesus through his teachings, his actions, or some mystical connection means the Christian will be fruitful, that is he reproduces and provides sustenance, refreshment, and life to those he meets. Jesus promises the faithful disciples that they will be pruned, that is face persecution, which was a big deal to “John’s” community.

Jesus promises that those who fall away from him, will be cut off and burned. The implicit threat to those who were wavering under persecution.

Jesus says that those who abide in Him keep His commandments. And thus far His commandment has been to love one another as He loves us.

Touching back on persecution, “John” reminds his readers that Jesus was hated and opposed by the political and religious leaders of his day. But assures them that those leaders will be held accountable by God.

He ends the chapter by promising the soon appearance of the Holy Spirit who will help them and assure them of the truth of Jesus’ life and message.

 

Chapter 16:

Continuing with the persecution narrative, Jesus tells them that the Jews will oppose his disciples and they will be cut off from the Jewish community. The Jews do this in ignorance because they don’t really know God.

Jesus: I’m leaving now, but no one asks me where I’m going. But it’s to your advantage that I leave, so the Holy Spirit can come to you.

Disciples: Couldn’t He come now and you can stay here too? That way like everyone would believe if they saw an immortal magical Rabbi walking around who came back from the dead. And you could settle any doctrinal questions that arise, maybe tell us not to hate and kill the Jews or hate and kill each other…

Jesus: No. It’s apparently a rule that only one member of the Trinity can be on Earth at any given time. Besides, you’ll all have the Holy Spirit to guide you in truth, so I’m sure there won’t be thousands of fractious denominations later who fight and hate each other over stupid arcane differences. Ha ha ha…

I’m going away and then coming back. It’s like child birth. I’m not there now when “John’s” readers are reading this, so they’re sad, but I’ll be back and then they’ll be super happy.

And then you guys can ask anything you want in my name, and God will give it to you.

(BTW, I did NOT win the lottery the last time I tried to follow that command, so… make of that what you will.)

Lastly, Jesus assures his disciples that he has overcome the world and they can too.

 

Chapter 17:

So Jesus prayed:

“Dad, I’m going to die now. Glorify me, that you may be glorified. You’ve given me authority over everyone, so I could bring them eternal life, that is that they would know you.

“I’ve shown my disciples who you are and they have been faithful. I have given them your words and they know them. They believe that I came from you and that you sent me. Keep them that they may one day be one with us. Only Judas has fallen.

“The world hates them, so please be with them and keep them from the devil. They do not belong to the world. Purify them in the truth of your word. I send them out as you have sent me out. I pray for these and for the future disciples they will make.

“Let them be united as we are, and let love abide in them that we may be one and abide together forever.”

Leave a comment